NEWS RELEASE – City of Lancaster Mayor Danene Sorace is The League’s New President

Pennsylvania Municipal League




CONTACT:  Debbie Bitting, Pennsylvania Municipal League, 717-236-9469, ext. *223,

City of Lancaster Mayor Danene Sorace is The League’s New President

Officers and At-Large Directors Also Elected to The Pennsylvania Municipal League Board of Directors

Harrisburg, PA (October 11, 2021) — City of Lancaster Mayor Danene Sorace was elected President of the Pennsylvania Municipal League (The League) Saturday, during the association’s Annual Business Meeting held in conjunction with the Municipal Leadership Summit in Lancaster.   

Mayor Sorace has been a member of The League’s Board of Directors since 2018 when she became Mayor, serving as Director-at-Large and later as Legislative Committee Co-Chair prior to being elected Second Vice President for 2019-20. She most recently served as First Vice President for 2020-2021.

“I’m honored and grateful for the opportunity to serve as president of The League,” said Mayor Sorace. “The League’s dedicated board of local leaders and I will continue to elevate the issues that impact cities, townships, and boroughs every day.”

Danene Sorace was elected to serve as the City of Lancaster’s 43rd Mayor in 2018, the second woman to hold this post. Prior to serving as Mayor, Danene served a four-year term on City Council, chairing the finance committee. 

“The League is honored to call Mayor Danene Sorace, City of Lancaster, our President for the coming year,” said League Executive Director Richard J. Schuettler. “The League membership looks forward to her leadership to guide them through these challenging times.”

In addition, Pittston Mayor Michael Lombardo, who had currently held the office of Second Vice President, was elected First Vice President, while Franklin Mayor Douglas Baker, who currently served as Legislative Committee Co-Chair, was elected Second Vice President. The League officers will each serve a one-year term in their respective positions on the Board.

At-Large Directors Manager Amy Farkas, Harris Township; Mayor David Mitchell, Corry; and Manager Joseph Fleming, St. Marys, were also elected during the meeting to each serve a two-year term on the Board of Directors.

The mission of the Pennsylvania Municipal League is to strengthen, empower and advocate for effective local government. The League is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization established in 1900 as an advocate for Pennsylvania’s 3rd class cities. Today, The League represents Pennsylvania cities, boroughs, townships, home rule communities and towns that all share their municipal policy interests. The Board of Directors oversees the administration of a wide array of municipal services including legislative advocacy (on both the state and federal levels), publications designed to educate and inform, inquiry and research, education and training certification programs, consulting-based programs, and group insurance trusts.

Additional members of the Board include: Deputy Mayor Leonard Lightner, Allentown; Mayor Matthew Pacifico, Altoona; Mayor Robert Donchez, Bethlehem; Mayor Tim Scott, Carlisle; Councilmember Allen Coffman, Chambersburg; Mayor Ron Strouse, Doylestown; Mayor Salvatore Panto, Easton; Mayor Joseph Schember, Erie; Council President Wanda Williams, Harrisburg; Mayor Jeff Cusat, Hazleton; Council Vice President Stephen Stevenson, Lock Haven; Mayor Christopher Frye, New Castle; Councilmember Timothy Fulkerson, New Castle; City Clerk Dennis Scarpiniti, New Kensington; Mayor James Kenney, Philadelphia; Councilmember Derek Green, Philadelphia; Councilmember Brian O’Neill, Philadelphia; Mayor William Peduto, Pittsburgh; Managing Director Abe Amorós, Reading; Mayor Paige Cognetti, Scranton; Mayor Barbarann Keffer, Upper Darby; Mayor Derek Slaughter, Williamsport; League Executive Director Richard J. Schuettler; and Business Leaders Network Representative Ashley Shiwarski, Homeserve.

Municipal elected and appointed officials from across the state attended in person and virtually, the Municipal Leadership Summit, a joint conference of the Pennsylvania Municipal League and Pennsylvania State Association of Township Commissioners, October 7-9, to connect and network with colleagues, attend informative and educational sessions, discuss issues facing the Commonwealth’s municipalities, share resources and best practices, establish legislative policy, and elect association officers for the coming year.

# # #

For more information, please visit Join the conversation at and – #MunicipalLeadershipSummit21, #StrengthThroughEngagement.