News Release – 10/17/2023 – Wilkes-Barre Township Councilman John Jablowski is The Pennsylvania State Association of Township Commissioners New President


Debbie Bitting, Director of Communications
717-236-9469, ext. *223;

Wilkes-Barre Township Councilman John Jablowski is The Pennsylvania State Association of Township Commissioners New President
Officers Also Elected to the PSATC Executive Committee

Harrisburg, PA (October 17, 2023) — Wilkes-Barre Township Councilman John J. Jablowski, Jr., MPA was elected President of the Pennsylvania State Association of Township Commissioners (PSATC) on Friday, October 6, during the association’s Annual Business Meeting held in conjunction with the Municipal Leadership Summit in Bethlehem.   

Councilman Jablowski will be starting his 4th term on Wilkes-Barre Township Council. He has served as a PSATC Regional President and has been a Member of the PSATC Executive Committee since 2015, most recently serving as First Vice President of the Association.

“The nature of communities is changing rapidly, and I welcome the opportunity to help engage, empower and drive transformative approaches to building stronger more vibrant local governments in Pennsylvania, said Jablowski.   

“Since 1925, the Pennsylvania State Association of Township Commissioners (PSATC) has helped leaders in the urban ring around cities to strengthen leadership skills and advocate for legislative initiatives that help municipal government meet the needs of our constituents.  

“I look forward to working with the first class townships in Pennsylvania to build upon best practices, enhance the value of leadership and drive innovative governments that create an even stronger quality of life in the communities we serve.”    

John Jablowski brings three decades of experience in creating collaborations that build thriving communities. His efforts continue to create partnerships that drive transformational innovations to improve efficiencies and create a better quality of life. 

Throughout his public engagement career, Jablowski has cumulatively managed over $2 Billion in community development financing and fiscal management for local governments and authorities throughout North America.

Mr. Jablowski currently serves as Senior Vice-President of M&T Bank Government Banking Group where he provides executive leadership in partnering with hundreds of local governments and regional authorities by engaging in community improvement and infrastructure project financing, operational fiscal management, and investment strategies. 

In addition to Councilman Jablowski being elected as President, Tinicum Township Commissioner Dennis Arthur was elected First Vice President, Crescent Township Commissioner Todd Miller was elected Second Vice President, Lower Allen Township President Commissioner Dean Villone was elected Third Vice President and Lower Allen Township Commissioner Jennifer Caron was elected Secretary/Treasurer. The PSATC officers will each serve a one-year term in their respective positions on the Executive Committee.

“The League congratulates all of the PSATC officers and wishes them the best for 2024. The League has worked closely with the Pennsylvania State Association of Township Commissioners for four decades and we look forward to continuing this strong relationship going forward,” said League Executive Director John Brenner. “Issues in first class townships are similar to those in cities and boroughs throughout the commonwealth. Our legislative priorities are aligned, and our advocacy efforts are important as we speak with one voice in Harrisburg. We look forward to serving the needs of first class townships with President Jablowski, officers and executive committee of the association.”

Municipal elected and appointed officials from across the state attended the Municipal Leadership Summit, a joint conference of the Pennsylvania Municipal League, Pennsylvania State Association of Township Commissioners and the Pennsylvania Career Fire Chiefs Association, October 5-8, to connect and network with colleagues, attend informative and educational sessions, discuss issues facing the Commonwealth’s municipalities, share resources and best practices, establish legislative policy, and elect association officers for the coming year. Join the conversation at and, – #MunicipalLeadershipSummit23.

The Pennsylvania State Association of Township Commissioners represents Pennsylvania’s first class townships and their elected governing officials before the Pennsylvania General Assembly and the Commonwealth’s various agencies. PSATC was founded in 1925 to distinguish itself from the second class townships which are much larger in number. First class townships are generally regarded as the “urban ring” around Pennsylvania’s cities. Many of our first class townships face issues similar to those of our Commonwealth’s cities and urban boroughs, thereby making the association’s affiliation with the Pennsylvania Municipal League a natural fit. The League has been providing advocacy services to the PSATC since 1983.  For more information, please visit

# # #