News Release – City of Pittston Mayor Michael Lombardo is The League’s New President


Debbie Bitting, Pennsylvania Municipal League, 717-236-9469, ext. *223,

City of Pittston Mayor Michael Lombardo is The League’s New President
Officers and At-Large Director Also Elected to The Pennsylvania Municipal League Board of Directors

Harrisburg, PA (October 11, 2022) — City of Pittston Mayor Michael Lombardo was elected President of the Pennsylvania Municipal League (The League) this past weekend, during the association’s Annual Business Meeting held in conjunction with the Municipal Leadership Summit in Pittsburgh.   

Mayor Michael Lombardo has been a valued member of The League’s Board of Directors, serving first as Northeast District Officer, followed by Legislative Committee Co-Chair, and then Second Vice President. He most recently served as First Vice President for 2021-2022.

“I am honored to be elected to serve as President of the Pennsylvania Municipal League and follow the great leadership of Lancaster Mayor Danene Sorace. My tenure as Mayor of the City of Pittston has taught me the importance of collaboration,” said Lombardo. “I look forward to serving in this leadership role and helping The League grow and advocate for our members and all municipalities of our great Commonwealth.”

In 1996, Lombardo, feeling frustrated with the condition of his hometown, entered the race for mayor of the City of Pittston. In November of 1997, he was elected the youngest mayor in the history of the city. He was sworn into office in January of 1998 and served for two terms, until January of 2006. Upon leaving office, he was appointed to the board of the Redevelopment Authority of the City of Pittston where he served until December of 2017. 

In 2017, Lombardo decided to run again for the position of mayor in the City of Pittston. He was elected in November of 2017 and sworn into office in January of 2018 to begin a third term as mayor. In November of 2021, Lombardo was elected to a fourth term, commencing January of 2022.

“Mayor Lombardo has been actively engaged with The League, serving on the Board of Directors, Executive Committee, and as First and Second Vice President. He is a leader in revitalization, and has led his team at the City of Pittston to professionally serve the community,” said League Executive Director John Brenner. “The Mayor has fostered positive and productive relationships with other municipal leaders from cities, boroughs and townships all over our Commonwealth. He will undoubtedly further engage League members and help us grow in the years to come. We appreciate his leadership and really look forward to working with him to strengthen, empower and advocate for effective local government.”

In addition to the election of League President, Franklin Mayor Douglas Baker, who had currently held the office of Second Vice President, was elected First Vice President, while Williamsport Mayor Derek Slaughter, who had currently served as Legislative Committee Co-Chair, was elected Second Vice President. The League officers will each serve a one-year term in their respective positions on the Board.

At-Large Director Councilmember Allen Coffman, Chambersburg, was also elected during the meeting to serve a two-year term on the Board of Directors.

The mission of the Pennsylvania Municipal League is to strengthen, empower and advocate for effective local government. The League is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization established in 1900 as an advocate for Pennsylvania’s 3rd class cities. Today, The League represents Pennsylvania cities, boroughs, townships, home rule communities and towns that all share their municipal policy interests. The Board of Directors oversees the administration of a wide array of municipal services including legislative advocacy (on both the state and federal levels), publications designed to educate and inform, inquiry and research, education and training certification programs, consulting-based programs, and group insurance trusts.

Additional members of the Board include: Mayor Matt Tuerk, Allentown; Mayor Matthew Pacifico, Altoona; Mayor J. William Reynolds, Bethlehem; Manager Christopher Christman, Derry Township; Mayor Salvatore Panto, Easton; Councilmember Mary Ann Horne, Borough of Edinboro; Mayor Joseph Schember, Erie; Council Vice President Patricia DeMarco, Forest Hills Borough; Manager Amy Farkas, Harris Township; Mayor Wanda Williams, Harrisburg; Mayor Rita Frealing, Borough of Gettysburg; Mayor Jeff Cusat, Hazleton; Mayor Danene Sorace, Lancaster; Councilmember Stephen Stevenson, Lock Haven; Mayor Christopher Frye, New Castle; City Clerk Dennis Scarpiniti, New Kensington; Mayor James Kenney, Philadelphia; Councilmember Brian O’Neill, Philadelphia; Mayor Peter Urscheler, Phoenixville Borough; Mayor Ed Gainey, Pittsburgh; Mayor Eddie Moran, Reading; Mayor Paige Cognetti, Scranton; Mayor Ezra Nanes, State College Borough; Manager Joseph Fleming, St. Marys; Mayor Barbarann Keffer, Upper Darby Township; League Executive Director John Brenner; and Business Leaders Network Representative Ashley Shiwarski, National League of Cities Service Line Warranty Program Administered by HomeServe.

Municipal elected and appointed officials from across the state attended the Municipal Leadership Summit, a conference of the Pennsylvania Municipal League, the Pennsylvania State Association of Township Commissioners and the Pennsylvania Career Fire Chiefs Association, October 6-9, to connect and network with colleagues, attend informative and educational sessions, discuss issues facing the Commonwealth’s municipalities, share resources and best practices, establish legislative policy, and elect association officers for the coming year.

# # #

For more information, please visit Join the conversation on Twitter @PAMunicipalLeag and – #MunicipalLeadershipSummit2022, #StrengthThroughEngagement.