Pennsylvania Municipal League Expands Executive Committee

CONTACT:  Debbie Bitting, Pennsylvania Municipal League, 717-236-9469, ext. *223,

Pennsylvania Municipal League Expands Executive Committee

Harrisburg, PA (January 13, 2021) – League President Philadelphia Councilmember Derek Green made the following statement today:

“I am pleased to announce the expansion of the Executive Committee of The League Board of Directors to include: 

  • President –­ Derek Green, Councilmember, Philadelphia
  • First Vice President — Danene Sorace, Mayor, Lancaster
  • Second Vice President — Michael Lombardo, Mayor, Pittston
  • Legislative Committee Co-Chair — Doug Baker, Mayor, Franklin
  • Legislative Committee Co-Chair — Derek Slaughter, Mayor, Williamsport
  • Christopher Frye, Mayor, New Castle
  • Ron Strouse, Mayor, Doylestown
  • Paige Cognetti, Mayor, Scranton
  • Matthew Pacifico, Mayor, Altoona

“This is a diverse group that brings to the table extraordinary expertise, savvy and initiative.  Collectively we will move The League forward as we strengthen, empower and advocate for Pennsylvania municipalities.”

# # #

About The Pennsylvania Municipal League

The mission of the Pennsylvania Municipal League is to strengthen, empower and advocate for effective local government. The League is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization established in 1900 as an advocate for Pennsylvania’s 3rd class cities. Today, The League represents Pennsylvania cities, boroughs, townships, home rule communities and towns that all share their municipal policy interests. The Board of Directors oversees the administration of a wide array of municipal services including legislative advocacy, publications, education/training, consulting-based programs, and group insurance trusts. For more information, please visit Join the conversation at and – #StrengthThroughEngagement.