Philadelphia Councilmember Derek Green is The League’s New President – Officers and At-Large Directors Elected to The Pennsylvania Municipal League Board of Directors

Press Release – October 30, 2020

CONTACT:  Debbie Bitting, Pennsylvania Municipal League, 717-236-9469, ext. *223,

Philadelphia Councilmember Derek Green is The League’s New President – Officers and At-Large Directors Elected to The Pennsylvania Municipal League Board of Directors

Harrisburg, PA (October 30, 2020) — Philadelphia Councilmember Derek Green was elected President of the Pennsylvania Municipal League today during the association’s Annual Business Meeting held in conjunction with the Municipal Leadership Virtual Summit.   

“I couldn’t be more humbled and honored to accept the role and responsibility of President of the Pennsylvania Municipal League, particularly during such an unprecedented and uncertain time for so many of our citizens,” said Philadelphia City Councilmember Derek Green (At-Large). “I’m eager to lead the charge and carry on the mission of The League, serving as a voice for the people of the Commonwealth. Our partnerships with such organizations as the National League of Cities and others, especially this past year during the worst public health crisis in our lifetime, is just one of the many reasons why this opportunity is so important to me as a public servant. I proudly step into my new role with passion and optimism. I look forward to all that we will accomplish together on behalf of every Pennsylvanian.”

Councilmember Green has been a member of The League’s Board of Directors since 2018, serving as Legislative Committee Co-Chair prior to being elected 2nd Vice President for 2018-19.  He most recently served as First Vice President for 2019-2020.

“The League is honored to call Councilman Derek Green, City of Philadelphia, our President for the coming year,” said League Executive Director Richard J. Schuettler. “The League membership looks forward to his leadership to guide them through these challenging times.”

In addition, Lancaster Mayor Danene Sorace, who had currently held the office of 2nd Vice President, was elected 1st Vice President, while Pittston Mayor Michael Lombardo, who currently served as Legislative Committee Co-Chair, was elected 2nd Vice President.  The League officers will each serve a one-year term in their respective positions on the Board.

At-Large Directors Mayor George Hood, Indiana and Councilmember Allen Coffman, Chambersburg were re-elected during the meeting to each serve an additional two-year term on the Board of Directors.

The mission of the Pennsylvania Municipal League is to strengthen, empower and advocate for effective local government.  The League is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization established in 1900 as an advocate for Pennsylvania’s 3rd class cities.  Today, The League represents Pennsylvania cities, boroughs, townships, home rule communities and towns that all share their municipal policy interests.  The Board of Directors oversees the administration of a wide array of municipal services including legislative advocacy (on both the state and federal levels), publications designed to educate and inform, inquiry and research, education and training certification programs, consulting-based programs, and group insurance trusts.

Additional members of The League Board include:  Mayor Ray O’Connell, Allentown; Mayor Matthew Pacifico, Altoona; Mayor Robert Donchez, Bethlehem; Mayor Tim Scott, Carlisle; Mayor David Mitchell, Corry; Mayor Ron Strouse, Doylestown; Mayor Salvatore Panto, Easton; Mayor Joseph Schember, Erie; Mayor Douglas Baker, Franklin; Borough Manager David Montz, Green Tree; Manager Amy Farkas, Harris; Council President Wanda Williams, Harrisburg; Mayor Jeff Cusat, Hazelton; Council Vice President Stephen Stevenson, Lock Haven; Mayor Christopher Frye, New Castle; Councilmember Timothy Fulkerson, New Castle; Certified Municipal Clerk Dennis Scarpiniti, New Kensington; Mayor James Kenney, Philadelphia; Councilmember Brian O’Neill, Philadelphia; Mayor William Peduto, Pittsburgh; Mayor Eddie Moran, Reading; Mayor Paige Cognetti, Scranton; Mayor Barbarann Keffer, Upper Darby; Mayor Derek Slaughter, Williamsport; League Executive Director Richard J. Schuettler; and Business Leaders Network Representative Todd Eachus, Comcast.

Municipal elected and appointed officials from across the state are attending the inaugural Municipal Leadership Virtual Summit, a joint conference of The Pennsylvania Municipal League and the Pennsylvania State Association of Township Commissioners, October 29-31, to connect and network with colleagues, attend informative and educational sessions, discuss issues facing the Commonwealth’s municipalities, share resources and best practices, establish legislative policy, and elect association officers for the coming year.

# # #

For more information, please visit  Join the conversation at and – #MunicipalLeadershipSummit20.