

Pennsylvania State Association of Township Commissioners President - Sam Juliano, Commissioner, North Versailles Township

Pennsylvania Municipal League President - Michael Lombardo, Mayor, City of Pittston

Via email

June 6, 2023

The Honorable Scott Martin Chairman Senate Appropriations Committee 281 Main Capitol Harrisburg, PA 17120-3013

The Honorable Jordan Harris Chairman House Appropriations Committee 512E Main Capitol Harrisburg, PA 17120-2186

Re: Permanent Funding for the Whole Home Repairs Program

Dear Chairman Martin and Chairman Harris:

On behalf of the members of the Pennsylvania Municipal League (The League) and the Pennsylvania State Association on Township Commissioners (PSATC), I write in support of permanent funding for the Whole Home Repairs Program.

As you know, this Program received bipartisan support and an initial appropriation of \$125 million in last year's budget. Based on early interest, it is clear a permanent appropriation is warranted to meet the volume of need across the Commonwealth in direct funding for home repair.

Our members fully support permanent funding of this Program because of the positive and wholistic investment it provides to improve home habitability and community stabilization. The Whole Home Repairs Program provides a comprehensive approach to the myriad of needs facing low-income homeowners. Working through the existing county structure, the Program will address and alleviate a host of housing and quality of life issues facing municipalities and their residents – including safe, habitable housing; stable neighborhoods; energy efficiency upgrades to older homes; blight remediation; and the creation of workforce development opportunities.

The League and PSATC believe this historic investment in the Commonwealth's residents and their housing will produce great dividends for years to come in communities large and small, rural and urban. Therefore, we encourage you to support permanent funding for the Whole Home Repairs Program during this year's budget negotiations.

Thank you,

Amy Sturges

Deputy Executive Director – Advocacy

Amy Stuges

The League and PSATC

C: Senate President Pro-Tempore Kim Ward

Senate Majority Leader Joe Pittman

Senate Minority Leader Jay Costa

Senate Minority Appropriations Chairman Vincent Hughes

House Speaker Joanna McClinton

House Majority Leader Matt Bradford

House Minority Leader Brian Cutler

House Minority Appropriations Chairman Seth Grove