

NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

TO NEWS/CITY DESK EDITOR

CONTACT: Debbie Bitting, Director of Communications, 717-236-9469, ext. *223; dbitting@pml.org

Altoona Mayor Matthew Pacifico is The League's New President Officers and At-Large Directors Elected to The Pennsylvania Municipal League Board of Directors

Harrisburg, PA (October 7, 2019) — Altoona Mayor Matthew Pacifico was elected President of The Pennsylvania Municipal League during the association's Annual Business Meeting held in conjunction with The League's 120th Annual Summit at the Gettysburg Hotel in Gettysburg.

"It is an honor and very humbling to be elected to serve as President of the Pennsylvania Municipal League. I consider this responsibility a great privilege, and look forward to working with ALL of our members and staff to continue our efforts to help strengthen our communities across the Commonwealth," said Mayor Matthew Pacifico, Altoona. "We are blessed to have such a diverse group of members who are active and engaged with The League, and who are so passionate about their municipalities."

Mayor Pacifico has been a member of The League's Board of Directors since October 2017 when he was elected 2nd Vice President. Prior to his election as President, he served as 1st Vice President.

"The League is blessed to have a dynamic leader of Mayor Pacifico's ilk to be our President," said League Executive Director Richard J. Schuettler. "I look forward to a great year working with our officers and entire Board of Directors."

In addition, Philadelphia Councilmember Derek Green, who had currently held the office of 2nd Vice President, was elected 1st Vice President, while Lancaster Mayor Danene Sorace, who currently served as Legislative Committee Co-Chair, was elected 2nd Vice President. The League officers will each serve a one-year term in their respective positions on the Board.

At-Large Directors Mayor Tim Scott, Carlisle; Mayor David Mitchell, Corry; and Borough Manager David Montz, Green Tree, were also elected during the meeting to serve two-year terms on the Board of Directors.

Mayor Tom Riel, Bradford and Mayor Michael Lombardo, Pittston, will now serve as League Legislative Committee Co-Chairs.

The mission of the Pennsylvania Municipal League is to strengthen, empower and advocate for effective local government. The League is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization established in 1900 as an advocate for Pennsylvania's 3rd class cities. Today, The League represents Pennsylvania cities, boroughs, townships, home rule communities and towns that all share their municipal policy interests. The Board of Directors oversees the administration of a wide array of municipal services including legislative advocacy (on both the state and federal levels), publications designed to educate and inform, inquiry and research, education and training certification programs, consulting-based programs, and group insurance trusts.

Additional members of The League Board include: Mayor Ray O'Connell, Allentown; Mayor Robert Donchez, Bethlehem; Councilmember Allen Coffman, Chambersburg; Mayor Ron Strouse, Doylestown; Mayor Salvatore Panto, Easton; Mayor Joseph Schember, Erie; Mayor Douglas Baker, Franklin; Council President Wanda Williams, Harrisburg; Mayor George Hood, Indiana; Council Vice President Stephen Stevenson, Lock Haven; Councilmember Timothy Fulkerson, New Castle; Certified Municipal Clerk Dennis Scarpiniti, New Kensington; Mayor James Kenney, Philadelphia; Councilmember Brian O'Neill, Philadelphia; Mayor William Peduto, Pittsburgh; Mayor Wally Scott, Reading; Mayor Wayne Evans, Scranton; League Executive Director Richard J. Schuettler; and Business Leaders Network Representative Todd Eachus, Comcast.

Municipal elected and appointed officials from across the state were in Gettysburg, October 3-6, to connect and network with colleagues, attend informative and educational sessions, discuss issues facing the Commonwealth's municipalities, share resources and best practices, establish legislative policy, and elect officers and members of The League Board of Directors for the coming year.